What is my name?

Rumplestilskin it is!

Scrumptious Sunday #2 – Beef June 29, 2008

Filed under: Scrumptious Sunday — rumplestilskin @ 1:18 pm

Ginger Beef

Ingredients:

1/2 cup/125 ml water

1 1/2 tsp/7 ml cornstarch

1/4 cup/60 ml liquid honey

1 1/2 tbsp/25 ml oyster sauce

1/2 tsp/2 ml dried crushed chilies

2 tsp./10 ml sesame oil

1/2 cup/125 ml cornstarch

2 large eggs

1 tbsp./15 ml soy sauce

1 tsp./5 ml sesame oil (optional)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 tsp./7 ml finely grated peeled gingerroot

1 1/4 lbs./560 g sirloin steak, cut across grain into 1/8 inch (3mm) thick slices

cooking oil, for deep-frying

2 tsp./10 ml cooking oil

2 green onions, cut julienne

2 medium carrots, cut julienne

1tbsp./15 ml finely chopped peeled gingerroot

Preparation:

Stir water into first amount of cornstarch in small bowl. Add next 4 ingredients. Stir. Set aside.

Beat next 6 ingredients with fork in medium bowl.

Cut beef slices into 1/4 to 1/2 inch (6 to 12 mm) shreds. Add to egg mixture. Stir until coated. Mar

inate at room temperature for 15 minutes.

Deep-fry beef, in several batches, in hot (375°F, 190°C) cooking oil for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes, stirring an

d breaking pieces apart, until golden brown. Remove beef with slotted spoon to paper towels to drain. Keep warm.

Heat second amount of cooking oil in medium frying pan on medium-high until hot. Add green onion, c

arrot and second amount of ginger. Stir-fry for about 2 minutes until softened. Stir honey mixture. Stir into carrot mixture until boiling and slightly thickened. Pour over beef. Makes 6 cups (1.5 L). Serves 6.

 

3 Responses to “Scrumptious Sunday #2 – Beef”

  1. Mercedes Says:

    Welcome Back! This looks and sounds so good to me. My bf-he will pick off the color-lol and eat the bee. . I will have to invite guests over-or eat the leftovers! Yummy!

    I am a little late getting over here~I had a very busy weekend. Feel free to go back to Scrumptious Sunday to visit any late posters that might have posted after you did.

    Impossible Cheeseburger Pie is posted at my place.

    I forgot to post this at Scrumptious Sunday: I will be going out of town (Vacation-woohoo) Sunday, June 6, 2008. I will be back that following Saturday, June 12, 2008. I might be late visiting your post. For new Scrumptious Sunday players: I hope to have a blog friend help with my blog-approving comments in moderation.

    Thank you so much for participating in Scrumptious Sunday!

    Mere

  2. Mercedes Says:

    I just realized I put the wrong dates for my Vacation-lol! I will be gone Sunday, July 6 – Saturday, July 12. Oopsie!

  3. evi Says:

    MERE, no problem. Enjoy your vacay!


Leave a comment